The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

I became a software engineer without college as well - thanks to TFF!

Topics related to Slowlane, Scripted mainstream dogma

lobo

Bronze Contributor
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
159%
Feb 20, 2019
Inspired by @GrayCode and @csalvato, I started learning to code in late 2019. It was actually this forum thread that inspired me!

I took immediate action after I read that thread, enrolled in an online software engineering school, followed tons of tutorials on Udemy, and built a few side projects. After about 1.5 years of learning (learning 6-8 hours every day), I just started applying for jobs. I interviewed with 4 companies and got two offers. I started learning when I was 20 and got hired at 22!

Luckily I had some savings from selling my previous business, and the help of my parents (letting me live for free basically). Along the way, I had my first son (this was about half a year into learning, so there was a burning fire to hustle).

I had some basic html/css knowledge beforehand and had built WordPress sites. I also had always been pretty technical and was always the computer "wiz" in the family.

Where I'm At Now:
I'm still working as a software engineer full-time, and I think it's the best thing ever in terms of 9-5 Jobs. I work remotely, flexible schedule, comfy salary, etc.