The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

Should you create a separate LinkedIn profile for your business?

NewManRising

Silver Contributor
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Speedway Pass
Oct 30, 2017
White City, OR
Hi guys,

So I already have a LinkedIn profile but it is job-focused. I have my resume on there, job history, education, etc. All my contacts are people I graduated with, some friends, and people that work in the field I am in.

I am in the process of launching a business and a website. I also want to use my LinkedIn profile as a way to network. Do I create a separate profile for all this? Or just add it to my already existing account? What did some of you guys do? It is a little awkward for me because the business I am launching is way different than what I do for a career. And the connections I have, none of them are really business-related people.

Thanks

Don't like ads? Remove them while supporting the forum. Subscribe.

Andy Black

Any colour, as long as it's red.
Staff member
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR
FASTLANE INSIDER
Speedway Pass
May 20, 2014
Ireland
Personally, I like seeing people’s history in their LinkedIn profile or CV. It’s interesting to see them in one industry or profession and gradually morph into something else.

I personally don’t mind who I’m connected to on LinkedIn. It’s a business platform so people are in work mode.

Anyway, check out mine here: www.andyblack.net

Just my own 2c

jon.M

Gold Contributor
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Speedway Pass
Jul 4, 2016
Sweden
Could networking for your own business on LinkedIn lead to trouble with your current employer if they happened to find out?

ColbyG

Contributor
Speedway Pass
May 19, 2017
Newcastle, Australia
Could networking for your own business on LinkedIn lead to trouble with your current employer if they happened to find out?