The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

10+ Years IT Contracting at €300-900/day (Learnings)

Mark Horrocks

Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
70%
Feb 13, 2016
I was an IT contractor for over 10 years, earning €300-600/day (with the occasional €900/day short-term gigs).

I've had a few AdWords jobs and contracts since 2009 (and am currently still in one long running one).

In that time, I've learnt how to:
  1. Build relationships with recruitment agents.
  2. Build a network of other contractors.
  3. Get my "name out there".
  4. Craft CVs that get interviews.
  5. Craft cover letters that get the CVs read.
  6. Get recruitment agents to " . just . open . the . damn . email . already . "
  7. Get to the interviews.
  8. Have a great interview.
  9. Negotiate rates and terms.
  10. Get contract extensions (don't just be valuable, show them you're valuable).
  11. Keep up to date with constantly changing technology.
  12. Move from slow-lane models to where I divorce my time from my revenue (still in progress!)
  13. Work out who you’re really working for!
  14. (Lots more...)

I'm learning to create videos, and have a series in mind that I'll drop in here.

Hope they help.

Andy

A friend of mine is an IT guy.. pretty good at what he does but he's not very the sales type of guy. Looking for clients and all that is just not for him but he wants some gigs/contracts.