The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

INTRO From Technician To Business Owner

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

tolmanmedia

Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Feb 25, 2020
Salt Lake City, Utah
3 years ago I was a wedding videographer with a dream. I wanted to be rich, I wanted to be financially free. I had absolutely no idea where to start, but I knew that weddings made good money so I kept shooting.

One of my mentors introduced me to The Millionaire Fastlane, and though it took me a few months to finally pick it up, it changed my life. I've always hated math, but the equations in that book made me realize I needed to get myself out of shooting weddings and instead own a business that shot hundreds of weddings a year while I sat around collecting checks.

I slowly implemented change after change, and made a hell of a lot of mistakes. But I'm proud to say that today my company Tolman Media has expanded across the nation. We have hired a president to run the company, and I've finally hit a point of incredible passive income and financial freedom. I'd like to sell next year, but to be honest am terrified of doing so because I know nothing about it.

Weirdly enough, the hardest part of living a Fastlane life has been how awkward social interactions with my family and close friends have become. I don't relate to them anymore. They complain about their 9-5 jobs, corporate ladder stuff and I don't even know how to respond. As my company has done better, I've bought nicer things for myself and it's become a weird friction point between me and my family. I know they are happy for me, but obviously my Tesla Model X is nicer than any car my dad has ever or will ever own.