The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Can we talk about PhDs?

REV5028

Silver Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
276%
Oct 29, 2022
New Mexico
Hello,

Earlier this year I completed my PhD. I often tell people it's the stupidest thing I've ever done.

I feel burnt out and bitter and like I wasted a ton of time, energy, and money. I feel like I am so far behind in life because of it.
At the same time I do realize that a lot of good has come out of it and I can use the experience moving forward.
I know I decided to pursue the degree and it's up to me to take action to move my life in the direction I want.
l suppose I'm recovering from and in a way grieving about the whole thing. I've been finding it helpful and enlightening to talk to others about their experiences.

I'm wondering if any of you have gotten PhDs and what your experience was like. Did you find yourself in a 9-to-5 after graduation? Was entrepreneurship always your end goal? If not, what was/is your journey like in moving from academia mindsets (of your own and those around you) to the "fastlane" mindset? How has, and/or what from, the PhD experience helped you most in your entrepreneurial journey?

If you don't have a PhD I'd love to hear from you too! Did you ever consider it?

Really just looking for a broad and general discussion and sharing of experiences regarding PhDs (or even Master's or other degrees).