The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

Rule One Investing - Opportunities In Coming Recession

TreyAllDay

Whatever it takes
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Speedway Pass
Feb 9, 2016
Edmonton, AB
I am stuck here with my laptop in a waiting room and I'm wondering how I may be able to provide some value, I thought I'd share a quick summary of a great book I just finished - being that I am a complete rookie in finance - and maybe even get feedback on the method from those who have a ton more experience than I do.

With the coming recession - there will be some great opportunities to buy stocks cheap so I have committed myself to learning as much about finance as possible. Here's the lowdown of Phil Town's Method.

What is RULE 1?

Very simply - never lose money in the stock market, and it's actually a simpler concept than most would think. Rule one investors just do not gamble.

How could you not lose money in the stock market, and in fact nearly guarantee 15% returns?
A majority of mutual fund managers/traders lose money by diversifying into a ton of different investments hoping to mitigate losses and have enough wins to still be on the positive side. There is no need to diversify if you are choosing the right companies. The market is an EMOTIONAL roller-coaster, and often misprices these great companies. You can identify and buy huge opportunities at 50% of their price, wait for the market to adjust their price, and sell/hold.

What Makes A Great Company?
Phil describes choosing great companies that you are passionate about, have strong growth rates, a "moat" (brand/patent/proprietary info), and great leadership. This can all be identified.

How Do I Know When A Great Business Is On Sale?