The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

Is it possible to start freelancing as a 17yo?

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

hoponthebop

New Contributor
Apr 16, 2019
Hey!

So Im 17yo and atm I'm learning copywriting. I've been learning copywriting for like 2 months and honestly it's time to take a leap and start working and start making money( which I need to because Im broke and so is my family :/). The problem is that while I was researching freelancing sites I read that I need to be atleast 18 to start freelancing and it got me lost right there. Will it be a big issue if I lie that Im 18 to start working earlier?

If not, how can I find clients and start working?

Don't like ads? Remove them while supporting the forum. Subscribe.

astr0

Grinding
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Speedway Pass
Dec 3, 2017
Lviv, Ukraine
Lying that you 18 may be an issue later when you try to withdraw your money from their platform.
They can also freeze your account with all your earnings if they find out.

Registering an account for someone who's 18+ and work from it is another shady option. Also violating ToS will all the consequences.

Try to find some copywriting work for your family/friends/friends of friends, etc. You'll get some experience and can join freelancing platform later, in less than a year.

Patrick Jones

growing
Speedway Pass
Dec 9, 2018
Berlin
Just give it a go and keep in mind that you might need an adult's bank account to cash out from freelance platforms.

If they find out and lock your account, just open another one. Nothing lost (compared to not opening an account), but heaps of experience to gain.

As long as you provide value, nobody really cares how old you are.

astr0

Grinding
FASTLANE INSIDER
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Speedway Pass
Dec 3, 2017
Lviv, Ukraine