The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

FAILURE? "How to Be a Firefighter" Teachable Course

A detailed account of a Fastlane process...

Chris FD

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
95%
Dec 5, 2020
Pasadena, California
Hey All,
My name is Chris and I'm a Firefighter Paramedic in Southern California.

matt-chesin-j6oWhh7l4Ig-unsplash.jpg

For the past 4 months I've been making a Teachable online course called "How To Be Chosen to Be a Firefighter: Real Talk, Truth Bombs, and a Secret Game Plan to Get You Hired at Your Dream Department". Becoming a firefighter is esoteric, competitive, and difficult so I wanted people to learn from my mistakes and get hired faster. Official release was 7/29 and after a 2 week pre-release there are ZERO SALES.

Here's what I spent:
  • Teachable platform $948
  • Loom $10
  • Yeti Mic $110
  • Facebook Ads (which got me about 100 leads) $250
  • Adobe $10
  • MailCheat(Chimp) $10
For a total of about $1350.

Here are the new skills I learned:
  • Recording myself (getting comfortable on camera) and video editing on iMovie
  • How to make Facebook ads (maybe not well, but now I know the process)
  • MailCheat(Chimp) audiences and email funnel marketing
  • Teachable's platform
  • Kind of a deeper appreciation for my journey to become a firefighter which was an odd byproduct.