The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Why I Dropped Out of College to Be a Salesman

Anything related to matters of the mind

Ubermensch

Platinum Contributor
Speedway Pass
Jul 7, 2008
Chicago
I am a salesman.

I started out reading books by Zig Ziglar, and Dale Carnegie. I learned the craft from seasoned and sleazy car salesman. Some of these guys more than dabble with The Force.

My early sales days began in my late teen years, after I dropped out of college (man, what a great move!).

Always be closing. That is my mantra. To me, "close the deal" rhymes with "live forever in history."

No, seriously. You should try being a salesman, or saleswoman... if you haven't already.

Does your customer have a need? Great! Do you fill this niche perfectly? Excellent. However, I have news for you... some very sad news...

Your customer is probably stupid. Don't get me wrong, your customer may be "educated," which only makes matters worse, because then they think they know everything. When, in fact, they don't know what the hell they're doing.

I am a salesman. I am proud to admit this. Technically, I am a business owner. Technically, I am always the CEO of my ventures. Technically, I am an entrepreneur, "in the true sense of the word."

@ChasingPaper Think fast. How many phone calls does it take to prove a whole website full of haters and doubters wrong?