The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Small Scale Manufacturing Machines

karakoram

Bronze Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Fastlane!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
91%
Apr 9, 2011
San Antonio, TX
Interesting. I work in manufacturing (I'm a mechanical design engineer). I design injection molded parts, injection molds (the mold set itself that is used to make injection molded parts), and I do machine design. I've designed firearms, car parts, airplane parts, industrial machine parts, etc.

I know that PCBA (printed circuit board assembly) manufacturing equipment takes up very little space, in the typical operation - the pick and place robot, solder wave oven, etc. I could see the potential for offering CM (contract manufacturing) as a business in this area.

As for 3D printing, I will echo what others have said in prior posts - its good for prototyping and in some instances, small production runs. The more pro level equipment gives better finishes on parts, while cheap, hobby grade equipment gives poor finishes. I have 3 of my own 3D printers.

You could run a CNC in your garage, but it will be a small mill and/or lathe, aka hobby level. We only have 220v single phase in residential homes, (pro machines are often 3 phase) and the concrete slabs are not rated for the weight of a pro-level CNC, not to mention the required room for those. I work with CNC machinists daily so I have some experience in the matter.