The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

The back injury that saved my life

Daniel Ekdahl

New Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
171%
Apr 3, 2022
Greetings! My name is Daniel. I’m a registered nurse of 12 years. A few years ago I landed my “dream job” in a coveted role as break relief nurse. I was a hero everywhere I went. Infinite tasks but minimal responsibility. I loved helping my fellow healthcare workers and patients alike. It was Slowlane and I knew it, but I was happy with my return of time, 3 for 4, the pay was good at about $8k a month, and the hospital offers fantastic health insurance. I felt secure. About a year living the “dream” I ruptured a disc in my back. Ruh roh! In a single day I went from dream job to cant do the job. And golly did I try. I’ve done all the yoga, PT, personal trainers, chiropractors, everything short of opioids and a highly ineffectual surgical option. I threw my back out and had to relearn how to walk 3 more times in two years. I lost multiple positions of decreasing physical demand at the hospital, and nearly lost that “great” health insurance almost as many times. A year ago, I was given another opportunity in the form a “work from home” position at the same hospital. Now I am fighting insurance denials and managing regulatory audits. With my feet up in a recliner and my laptop I was ready to battle evil parasitic Fortune 500 insurance companies! I was finally safe again, or so I thought. While it doesn’t