The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

On How To Manage Remote Developers

Topics relating to managing people and relationships

Ilya C

Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
86%
Jun 6, 2019
Hey. I've been managing IT projects for more than 5 years and here I'll share my experience in picking and managing remote contractors. I'll focus on developers, but some parts can be applied to other types of services too.

How To Choose Contractors
It can be challenging to know for sure if the person/team are really capable of delivering, but there are ways to minimize risk.

1. Always prefer those who you have already worked with and who has delivered similar projects. Easy, right? :) If you are here, I'll suppose that's not an option.
2. Ask the people you know for a reference that satisfies the criteria above. If that doesn't work out, read further.
3. At this point your only option (that I know of) is to go public with your task. If you can, it is always better to start working with a new contractor on a small project first. Just to see if they deliver at all and if you are a fit. Keep in mind, that sometimes it can be not wise to split up a big project, because your contractor plans the workload ahead and the good ones are busy. So when you decide to proceed with the bigger part, you might have to wait. You've got to find the sweet spot between these extremes that works specifically for your situation.