The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

coding advice...

sk24iam

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
5%
Sep 22, 2009
Washington DC
Hey guys, I need some advice on a startup I have been planning for a few years.

I have an online business idea I plan on starting in the next few months. Throughout college, I wrote the business plan for this startup. The website will require extensive php programming which I have no knowledge of up until 3 months ago. I bought a book and started studying php. I am 3 months in and realize that to build the site I desire, I am a long way off. Here is my plan... I will start to write the code for the site and learn everyday, adding the features neccessary. I think this will take minimum a year to complete. My concern is that the final product won't be as functional as I had planned. In addition, this idea will take credit cards through a merchant account so I am a little bit concerned with security.

My other option is to hire a coder on elance to build the site for me. It would cost somewhere around $5000 but I assume they would build it to my needs. I know eventually, if this project becomes successful I woudl have to hire a php engineer. Does anyone have any advice on the best route to take?

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

ZDS

Bronze Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
34%
Oct 2, 2008