The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Baring all, well, maybe not all

Boogie

Bronze Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Rat-Race Escape!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
219%
Nov 27, 2014
Midwest, USA
Hi everyone,

I'm a 50 something year old computer consultant. Not currently self-employed, though I've done that in the past. I used to be a pretty well paid self-employed contract programmer years ago. I was a programmer, contract programmer, manager, director, and then ended up doing non-programming, but still technical work when my wife and I wanted to change geographical regions and I went back to consulting. Years ago, I was involved in a startup, but that came crashing down when the CEO played things too conservatively before the dot com crash. Based on our competitors valuations and my options at the time, I lost tens of millions in money on a company that he never took to the market. The one good thing about that experience though, was that I was high enough and early enough in that company to see how a startup with hundreds of millions in funding was run and the mistakes the CEO made when companies tried to buy us for LOTS of money and he wouldn't even talk to them. He played the all or nothing game and lost. I currently analyze and design large systems for sales trending and analysis.