The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Trying to better understand how product manufacturing works

birdy05

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
60%
Dec 14, 2014
Hi I'm hoping to get some help understanding how to get going on manufacturing a product. I have zero knowledge or experience in this area. I've tried googling to do research but I find the results I get are blog posts with SEO sucking motivational content that doesn't actually give any useful advice haha... If anyone has any recommendations of websites or books that go into detail about the process of manufacturing a product that would be really great, or even some good search terms I can use in google to help me actually find something of value would be helpful. I'm trying to understand the actual process of producing the product, not the coming up with the idea or creating a CAD file etc.

How does the manufacturing process work, do I need to get a separate supplier to provide the materials, a separate one for assembly of the product, a third for packaging, and a fourth for shipping?
Are there places that are capable of doing all those things or are at least in partnership together so it makes communicating and transporting a lot easier? Do that have a specific name for that kind of business so I can find them?