• The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success
  1. Join 50,000+ entrepreneurs
    who are kicking butt and
    winning their dream life.

Unscripted™ Entrepreneurship:
    A Business That Pays More Than Money, It Pays Time.

"Fastlane" is an entrepreneur discussion forum based on The Unscripted Entrepreneurial Framework (TUNEF) outlined in the two best-selling books by MJ DeMarco (The Millionaire Fastlane and UNSCRIPTED™). From multimillionaires to digital nomads, the forum features real entrepreneurs creating real businesses.

Download (Unscripted) Download (Millionaire Fastlane)  Register
    Registering for the forum removes this block!

INTRO Leaving science for entrepreneurship

Discussion in 'Forum Introductions (Who are you!?)' started by cvw, Jun 9, 2018.

1. cvw

cvw New Contributor Read Millionaire Fastlane

Rep Bank:
    $17
    Hi all,

I am a 23 year old graduate student in a top 10 university in the US. I've been pursuing a career in academia with the goal of eventually patenting some of my work and starting a spin-off company. Lately, I've become more aware of the issues with this approach, namely that it requires a 10-20 year time commitment and that pretty much all academic startups violate MJ's commandment of control. Also working in academia is a total nightmare.
    I recently had my FTE from medical issues and the resulting costs incurred. I realized I need to start pursuing my goals now, both because life is short and because I need to provide for members of my family.