The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Is it worth paying $1,200 a month for rent, when I only make $2,800 a month?

Anything related to matters of the mind

bibbysoka

Bronze Contributor
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
165%
Jul 5, 2019
Simple question - I have been living with my parents for two years post graduation. I currently work in IT and I make approximately $2,800 a month. I have been saving a lot of my money for a mortgage for a house but I am still a really long way to go before I can actually buy a home, as I still have a girlfriend and I'm not committed to buying a house just yet.

The cheapest apartments in my area start at about $1,400 a month but I found a nice one for $1,200. It seems outrageous, because in college I used to only pay about $500 a month for rent. It is insane how my same college apartment has doubled in price in only a few years.

My question is do you guys think it is wise to spend $1,200 a month on rent when I make only $22 an hour/$2,800 a month? Or do I really not have any choice? I can't live at home with my family forever, especially my family is becoming extremely toxic. Thank you for any and all advice!

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

Kak

Legendary Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR
Read Rat-Race Escape!
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
494%
Jan 23, 2011
Texas