The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Formal vs. Informal Entry / Customs Bonds

prof

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
132%
May 21, 2015
Chiang Mai
It's my first time sending product to the USA and I'm a little bit confused regarding formal vs. informal entry.

From what I understand, a total goods value of $2500 is the marker by which your customs entry moves from informal to formal so there's a lot of advice out there saying for quicker processing and fewer fees keep your shipment value under this threshold.

That's all well and good but obviously there comes a time when your good value will exceed $2500 and it can't be helped and I haven't found a great deal of advise out there about that.

For me I have a rather awkward incoming goods value of $2800 which I guess means I'm going to need a formal entry.

My understanding is that for goods requiring a formal entry you can expect the following bolt on fees:

- Customs Entry Fee ($150)
- Messenger Fee ($15)
- Single Entry Bond Fee (Minimum is $65 but depends on product value)
- Bond Processing Fee ($15)

Alternatively if you purchase an annual bond for $500 you can save on the messenger fee, single entry bond and bond processing fee on each import for its duration of validity which is probably a good idea if you plan on importing 4/5 times a year minimum.