The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Escaping poverty traps in road to financial freedom and location independence

People>Cash

Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
89%
Jun 4, 2014
Hello all fastlaners. Here is a background of the last couple years (rather long). You can skip to end for TLDR if pressed on time.

Background:

I graduated from college in 2013 with - you guessed it - a business degree :(

There were great times and definite benefits of college, however, I feel that I could have received similar benefits from traveling, work experience, and self taught education in a greatly reduced time period.

After college I worked two jobs for 5 months while saving money up to backpack Europe. Backpacking Europe was an incredible learning experience about myself and it involved a lot of deep introspection of who I was, who I am, and where I want to be. I learned that ultimately I want to have enough income to not constantly worry about bills while at the same time making a positive social impact (helping people directly or indirectly). I believe that this is what the vast majority of millennials want to do as well.

After returning from Europe I worked for a start-up and a brewery for a while but it wasn't rewarding or challenging enough. I then switched to a non-profit where the purpose was very fulfilling.