The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

Applying aviation principles to business

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

Valhalla

Bronze Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Mar 6, 2019
Throughout my career as an airline pilot, I have learned many things about the importance of procedures, checklists, leadership, communication, prioritizing, stress management and decision making among a pile of other lessons learned formally or through on the job experience. When venturing into various businesses (holiday rental management, product development, ecom, interior design firm) I have instinctively applied these same principles I use on the flight deck. When I started talking to other business owners about this, it quickly became apparent that this method was appealing to non-pilots as well and was something they lacked within their own operation. I then tested this by freelancing consulting services online and found it to be successful albeit a little off the cuff on my part, taking on their issues as they come. While I feel there is value here, I find the consulting fulfilling but not very productive (no scale/violates time principle). I have been looking at ways to translate these principles to a wider market including Saas, community building, podcasting, online training but I can't seem to hit an idea on the head that appeals to me from a client perspective or CENTS. I have thought of splitting off the different components to test them ie. Business decision making models or development of procedures to make an owner/operator company saleable.