The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Sunsetting of 2G, 3G Cellular Networks (Implications for IoT Industry)

mdot

Always Improve.
Read Rat-Race Escape!
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
190%
Dec 24, 2020
Ontario, Canada
I wanted to share an article I found that may be of interest to the forum, especially those in the IoT hardware industry. This might be common knowledge in the IoT industry but I'm a professional electronics designer in another industry as well as a hobbyist, and I didn't realize this was happening. Certain companies (such as particle.io) still sell 2G/3G modules, so I hope this thread helps you become more aware of what you are buying into before developing a whole product around a dying infrastructure!

2G, 3G, 4G LTE Network Shutdown Updates

(Digi-Key Article)
Note: the title is a bit clickbaity, because 4G LTE IS NOT shutting down in the foreseeable future, but we'll get to that in a second.

Key Points:
  • IoT (Internet of Things) devices can be connected to a Wi-Fi hotspot but are limited by the range of the hotspot. A solution is using a cellular network to always remain connected wherever there is cell service. This is great for connecting devices in large open spaces, or mobile platforms for example.
  • In the past devices have been built to work using the 2G or 3G system. Both of these systems are due for effective shutdown by major carriers in the next 2 years.