The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Trademarking

RealDreams

Silver Contributor
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
170%
Jun 22, 2018
I've been building an online business for 3 months (no, it's not a blog/dropshipping website). I predict it will take me another 3-4 months to complete.
I was wondering, should I register the trademark right away or wait for the first customers/users before?

I've read it takes 12-18 months to file a US trademark so it's pretty much a gamble because if your service explodes the probability of someone stealing your logo/name/brand gets higher and higher. Of course, I'm not saying it will explode after 2 days I release my website, but growth is more often than not unexpected and non-linear.

I don't know if this counts as action-faking or thinking of a problem I don't have, but I don't know any good company who has not trademarked their business from the very beginning. I think there's a good correlation between someone trademarking their company and the success they acquire. Trademarking your business is a sign of commitment to making it work, whilst waiting for customers to arrive and only then trademarking screams "I don't fully believe my business will take off so I'm just taking chances and waiting". Obviously, this is just my opinion and more of subconscious thought.

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

Walter Hay

Legendary Contributor
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR