The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

The Barter Mentality!

Anything related to matters of the mind

servicefly

Bronze Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
46%
Sep 20, 2008
California (Southern)
New Entrepreneurs are extremely creative people. They have to be to get their new business off the ground. Unfortunately the very mindset responsible for success in the early start up stages of their venture can haunt them later. As an Entrepreneur Consultant, I have run into this issue on many occasions. I call this mindset the “Barter Mentality.†It is always a bit of a task to help my clients move on from this mentality and into the focused structuring stage, which opens the door to step-by-step action.

What is the Barter Mentality?

In the beginning stages of a new venture most, if not all, Entrepreneurs are working with bootstrap capital (very little money). Due to little capital these Entrepreneurs are forced to keep expenses low. One really successful strategy to keeping expenses low is to barter services. One client I had offered mobile pet grooming services, so when she came to me for help the first thing she did was offer me her services for free. I didn’t have a pet at the time but my parents did. I took her up on the offer and helped her organize her break even point numbers to enhance her business plan. This was a good trade at the time even though I severely discounted my services for two grooming services.