The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

New to the Fastlane Forum! Starting a business in Hawaii.

Ben Tan

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
50%
Sep 30, 2018
Maui
Aloha all,
I'm brand new to the fastlane forum and I just wanted to introduce myself.

My name is Ben and I moved to Maui six years ago after graduating college with an aerospace engineering degree. I never thought I'd use the degree. I still don't really plan to. I started along that path because I was okay at math and computers and there really wasn't anything I particularly wanted to do.

I moved to Maui to live on a little sailboat for the summer. Coming from Iowa, definitely a change. Change in weather, change in pace, change in just about everything. Didn't really anticipate staying on the island longer than a few months, but life happened and Maui has become home.

But it really is expensive and it has become a paycheck to paycheck way of life. It's near impossible to get ahead with the cost of living on the islands. The only foreseeable way is to own a business and leverage the higher cost of living by providing a service to the tourists.

For the longest time, I had tried to stay away from anything technical, as part of the reason for moving to the island was to get away from the cubicle and indoor lifestyle.

I've finally decided to compromise a bit and spend a little bit of time inside, working on starting a business.