The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 90,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Help Me Understand Public Companies

LaughedAt

Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
33%
Sep 20, 2007
Israel
Lately I've been looking at finances of publicly traded companies and I've been blown away, here's an example, Orbitz Worldwide Inc., the travel lead generation company, here are the financial statements:
Financial Statements for Orbitz Worldwide, Inc. - Google Finance

I read a book about financial statements, I'm no expert on the subject but from what I can see, the company showed no profits since 2005, it's been losing hundreds of millions since then, what I don't understand is how such companies can still afford to operate, and worse than that, why anyone would want to invest in such companies for the long term, I truly don't understand this, am I missing something?

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

MattThomas

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
10%
Jan 16, 2009
Long Island, New York
No, you're not really missing anything at all. You raise a lot of good questions. A lot of companies can stay afloat this way if they have enough debt to finance this lack of net income. While I'm not sure what the industry standard is, the Total Debt to Equity Ratio is 1.4, so for every dollar of equity, $1.40 is borrowed. Not nearly as high as some of the chronic offenders of last year, but they still have more debt than equity.