The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Freemium 101

c4n

Full throttle
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
265%
May 30, 2017
Hi fellow Fastlaners,

I have a few years of experience in the freemium market so I thought I would write a short introduction for those interested in learning what freemium is and how to put it to good use.

» What is "Freemium"

Freemium is giving something away for free (a product, app, service), but charge for extra features (remove adds, increase storage, unlock functionality).

Free + Premium = Freemium

Or, as Wikipedia puts it:
Freemium is a pricing strategy by which a product or service (typically a digital offering or application such as software, media, games or web services) is provided free of charge, but money (premium) is charged for proprietary features, functionality, or virtual goods.

» Freemium examples

You all have seen it in action. Freemium is:
  • Dropbox giving you free space, but charging you to upgrade it to 1TB,
  • a free mobile app where you can pay to remove ads,
  • a free Android game that requires a $0.99 payment to have a good chance to reach past level 45,
  • the Fastlane Forum that is free to use, but requires a subscription to become a Fastlane INSIDERS.