The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

Dropshipping to build up capital and experience?

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

Ywan

New Contributor
Dec 3, 2018
Hi guys,

I need your advice. I have an idea for a brand with a few products, but need about 15-20 k to implement the idea. Since I can't and don't want to take a loan, I will have to bootstrap it.
Now for my question: I was thinking of doing a dropshipping store to both build up the capital I need for the brand and learn about online marketing right away so that by the time the brand launches I have some experience and I don't have to start from scratch.

What do you guys think about this? Is dropshipping in 2021 profitable enough to build up the capital with it or are there better options?
If so, what would that better options be? What would you do instead to build up capital?

Thanks.

Don't like ads? Remove them while supporting the forum. Subscribe.

monfii

Gold Contributor
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Speedway Pass
Mar 3, 2020
Brussels
When Jeff Bezos built Amazon end of the 90s, he thought about doing dropshipping and eventually sided against it because he didn't see the business plan. Now, dropshipping has made some people millions, but that was before consumers heard about aliexpress. Generally, it's a bad business model because you control nothing, and create no value.

If you want to learn sales, marketing, etc, i recommend you pick a skill (design, web design, copywriting) and start a side hustle with that skill. Or you can build a blog. My blog taught me tones I wouldn't have learned otherwise.

Finally, regarding your main idea, you should test and validate it before investing 15k-20k.

Good luck

Monfii

Ywan

New Contributor
Dec 3, 2018