The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

INTRO It's Good to Be Here

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

Rydez

New Contributor
Dec 7, 2019
My name is Ryan, I'm 26, and I'm here to learn.

I've only ever had two goals in life, and I've had them since I was in high school. 1) Become an engineer, 2) Own a business. The first goal was so I would become useful and move out of my parent's house. The second was so I could get ahead of the pack and eventually support my parents.

I studied physics in college and since then I've been a software engineer. I've been in the industry for about 4 years. I'm an above-average engineer with a job that I'm proud to have. It's the second goal that I'm struggling with. I've been seriously pursuing business ownership for about 3-4 years. All of my past attempts have revolved around creating a start-up. I've started to feel like I'm getting no where and that the effort isn't worth it. Starting a business is hard, starting a business while working full-time is nearly impossible (Calm down, I didn't say "is impossible"!). From briefly lurking on this forum, I've found that maybe there's a better way. This post was enlightening. I've read it three times over and I've started researching buying a business instead of starting a business. I've been hustling up skill and money since starting as a software engineer. I've only ever tried to leverage my skill, but now I will leverage my skill and money.

Don't like ads? Remove them while supporting the forum. Subscribe.

MJ DeMarco

Administrator
Staff member
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
Jul 23, 2007
Fountain Hills, AZ
Welcome aboard, sounds like you've got a great foundation for a Fastlane.

Wowabunga

New Contributor
Dec 6, 2019
Polecat Hollar, PA