The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

INTRO Hello from NYC and questions about near future plans

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

TFM-PVB

New Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Millionaire Fastlane
I've Read UNSCRIPTED
Sep 16, 2018
New York
Hi everyone! I’m a structural engineer living in NYC since January 2015. I’m in my mid-thirties and like many here, have lived the slowlane life since forever. I started reading TMF book last week after seeing a recommendation on Reddit. The material and advice in the book is excellent and aligns very well with the mindset I started cultivating at the beginning of this year.

I just started following the forum today so apologies if these questions have already been discussed (feel free to point me to the discussion thread rather than answering again):

1) I’ve saved a decent chunk of money, enough where I could maintain a similar lifestyle in a cheaper country (e.g. Portugal or Colombia) for up to 2 years without any side income (my 1st language is Spanish and I understand Portuguese so language is not a concern). I’m getting married in March and my fiancé is on board with this, since she works remotely and loves living abroad. So, has anyone in this forum taken this route? I.e. quitting your job and living temporarily outside the US while trying to start a US-based business? I wonder if others have tips and advice. Our plan is to move in June as soon as our lease is up. I’m really excited and look forward to having more time to THINK, rather than spending my days being another cog in the wheel and solving someone else’s problems.