The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

EXECUTION What is your productivity / task management system?

ThePowerOfStory

New Contributor
Aug 8, 2019
Germany
I wanted to show you what helped me with my productivity. This system greatly improved my focus and output. I'm not a productivity expert, but I know how it feels to be miserable because you don't seem to get ahead. Let me know what you guys use as a productivity system

I've always been a chaotic sob. Every book told me to make task lists, use time management, implement prioritization, set goals, create vision boards etc. But I just couldn't come up with a system that worked for me. I found Getting Things Done by David Allen and was intrigued. But it didn't last. Something was missing. I felt like I was making no progess. I set goals, but it never fitted with my daily workflow.

Then I found out about "Getting Results The Agile Way". It's a system that compliments GTD perfectly in my opinion. Here's a blog series about how it works and with which tools you can implement it: Getting Results The Agile Way Blog Series

The system

It's basically a task management app (Todoist, Things, Omnifocus, Remember The Milk, NirvanaHQ etc.) + an organisation app like Evernote / OneNote. It works with pen and paper too. Getting Results The Agile Way is basically a set of habits and guidlines how to plan your day, week, month and year. Here's a quick summary of the most important priciples, the book is really awesome with much more potential value for you:

1. The "Rule of 3" says to avoid analysis paralysis, you should only aim to have 3 outcomes planned for any given time period - be it daily, weekly, monthly, or yearly. You only try to shoot for 3 things. You plan 3 outcomes for the year, to reach that you plan 3 outcomes for the month, to reach that you plan 3 outcomes fot the week, and so on. You get the idea.