The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

Web development studio Administration. Help!

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

Jorge

Bronze Contributor
Oct 5, 2007
Mendoza, Argentina
First of all, if this thread is not in the right forum, excuse me and move to where it should be.

As I explained in the introductions forum, Im about to establish a Web Development / Architectural Visualization Studio with a partner.

He is an architect devoted to 3d visualization and will manage that dep. of the studio, I will handle the web development area.

I could really use some advice here about how to manage the employees. Let me explain:

I have been a freelance developer for some time now and my client list has expanded to a point were I can no longer manage it. I outsourced part of the work with a -very good- programmer from another city in my country, but it was really difficult to keep a schedule at distance, so I partenered with the architect to establish the studio an divide the expenses.

The problem (or doubt) I have is how I should contract the employees. Im thinking about start with only one web designer and one programmer BUT I don't have resources to keep a payroll, so I have a few ideas:

-Propose to another freelancers to work with/for me where we all get clients, I handle all the PR (Im not the best, but pretty good at it) and cash more % since Im supporting the office and everything. The one who gets the job gets as well more % than usual. There would be no employer/employee contract so there would be no wage.

Pros: I dont have to keep a payroll.
Cons: I dont really have much control over the workers and they could easily be unresponsible hurting my brand.

-Propose a minimum wage and a % of every work comes to the company. If one of them brings a client, they get a comission of that particular work.