The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Start With WHY

Tarma

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
135%
Aug 2, 2017
Italy
People don't buy WHAT you do they buy WHY you do it.

I read the book. I must confess I believe this statement, but I'm not sure about little new businesses and I have little experience.

I'd be very curious what the more experienced entrepreneurs on here think about this.

Simon Sinek's TED Talk:

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

jpn

Bronze Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
286%
May 6, 2017
Netherlands
I did not read the book, but I did watch the TED talk a few times over the past years.

The feeling I always get is that he picks his data to fit his story. People don't buy why you do something, why you do anything is irrelevant, people buy to satisfy their needs. They buy perceived value. And due to excellent marketing and good value for money products, companies like Apple do very well.

The "Why" can help craft an excellent marketing story that helps increase perceived value. It may help establish a brand identity that people may want to identify with. But the perceived value is why they fork over the money in the first place.

loop101

Platinum Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
161%
Mar 3, 2013
I created a similar thread here: "Start With Why" + "Fastlane"