The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

So I've been a wantrepreneur for some time..

nelnhf

New Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
133%
May 19, 2019
Ever since I was an undergraduate, my dream is to start and own my own business. Inspired by rags to riches stories and a relatively decent IQ score, I felt invincible. The sky was the limit. That was ten years ago.

Upon graduation, I spent seven months in an insurance sales job which I decided wasn’t suitable for me; and about a year trying to start a recruitment business, which failed. Subsequently, I found myself a job in the education industry and has been working with the same organisation for the past eight years.

With a stable paycheck, and the failure from my past venture, my initial ambition to own a million dollar business diminished. What was left were occasional ideas for side hustles which never materialised.

The idea to get more serious in starting a business for an alternative source of income struck a little more than six months ago. My baby was six months old, and getting more fun and adorable by the day. I want to be able to spend more time with her, and a 9-6 full-time job will not allow me to do so.

I went on to find out more about operating a franchise of a relatively well-known tuition brand. The initial capital required came up to about $50k, and the expected returns, i.e. monthly income was just marginally more than my current paycheck.