The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Road to Becoming a Fastlane Author

Breaking Free

Bronze Contributor
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
102%
Aug 4, 2013
Phoenix, AZ
As I'm writing this, I can't help but find the humor in my situation. I'm sitting at work on one of my breaks, mulling over some ideas on what I should write. It's been a rough morning, everything seems to be broken and everything is high priority. I work in IT, and it doesn't help that I realized two days ago that all I do is fix other people's internet access. I get paid well for a Slowlane job, it's a six figure salary, but this isn't for me.

My goals are simple:
- to never again wake up to the noise of an alarm clock
- to never again sort through items by weight at the grocery store to make sure I don't overspend
- to never again hear the words "It's hump day!" or "Yay, Friday!"
- to never again say I can't afford something
- to be able to travel anywhere I want, when I want
- to have a nice house on a nice piece of land to come home to when I'm done travelling
- to never again have any sort of debt

It took me awhile to land on writing as my Fastlane plan. I've been writing fiction in some way or another since I was 10. But as I looked into the world of publishing I realized that, to make a real living, you not only had to be good, but lucky. Something like only 10% of traditionally published authors made their living off of writing alone. So, I gave up and went to school.