The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

EXECUTION Producing, Marketing and Releasing My First Hip-Hop/Rap Album (Music Production, Building Fanbase, Diversifying Income Streams)

Remove ads while supporting the Unscripted philosophy...become an INSIDER.

Tjkingmc

Contributor
Read Millionaire Fastlane
Sep 19, 2020
North Carolina
Greetings All.

I'm starting this progress thread to keep myself accountable and document my experience for other aspiring musical artists/ music professionals on the forum.

Backstory:
I'm in my late 20's. I've been rapping for 15 years and producing/engineering for the last 3. It's always been a passion for me, but I'm at a cross roads:

Is music something that I am going to pursue as a serious business? or chalk it up as a hobby and focus primarily on my other (less exciting) business?

Biggest external problem: Saturation. Finding a niche with less competition.
Biggest internal problem: Lack of inspiration.
Secondary internal problem: Keeping focus / postponing music ideas for unrelated activities that offer more immediate financial gain.

I've released projects in the past with promising feedback. The content of my music tends to lead to higher engagement (encouraging emails, messages, comments) suggesting that I'm hitting on something somewhat niche. Early on I made a push and realized the messages in my music were being negated by poor audio quality so I went back to the lab, learned how to make my own beats and how to mix. I know music is largely "subjective" but like any industry there are standards of quality that are ubiquitous. I'm confident that my music has gone from clearly amateur in quality to professional.

Observations: