The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

PL SQL Query!

NMdad

Gold Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
224%
Aug 6, 2017
New Mexico
I've worked with Microsoft SQL Server for the past 20 years, but I have no formal background in computer science or software--everything I've learned has been on-the-job learning. I have a narrow area of expertise, almost entirely limited to using SQL with one specific ERP software application.

But with that very specific skillset, I can charge 4-5X what very skilled SQL developers on UpWork charge. I actually hired a couple very skilled SQL developers who work for me.

Those SQL-related interview questions are more common at large companies. You might hunt for smaller companies & startups--you might find (like I did) that there's more opportunity to identify opportunities within the company to specialize & provide way more value to the company while developing your technical skills. At large companies, the roles tend to be more constricted.

Also, if you have domain-specific experience (e.g., in the oil & gas industry, or with injection mold manufacturers, etc.), it can be incredibly valuable. My domain experience & knowledge is the main reason I can charge so much for my limited technical expertise.

Technical expertise is a lot like a commodity (like electricity or office furniture), but domain expertise is much more scarce--and therefore valuable.

adisharma

PARKED
User Power