The Entrepreneur Forum | Startups | Entrepreneurship | Starting a Business | Motivation | Success

WEB/DIGITAL Need help picking red pill or blue pill. Am I adding any value compared to the competition? (demo)

Accelerate wealth. Build a business that pays freedom. Join more than 70,000 entrepreneurs and register for the Fastlane Entrepreneur forum. Remove ads? Join the INSIDERS.

Fr33zerPop

Contributor
Jan 14, 2020
Portland, Oregon, USA
Being an amateur musician and an animator, I wanted to get into the space of creating beat visualizers and lyric videos for musicians by creating my own designs.
This ground is already being well covered by some slick automated sites.
I'm looking for free ideas on finding my niche/value add, or help with deciding to walk (or hopefully pivot) away.
Thanks for you input!

Value I bring:
-- I'm a skilled animator and can create unique content, but am looking for a way to Fastlane and move beyond bespoke freelancing
-- I can deploy a basic product Ecom site (Webflow) for no additional cost (only my time)

Hurdles:
-- I need to at least prove the initial concept with little or no financial investment (read: spouse!)
-- The competition is automated. I would need to invest in creating this just to compete at the same level.
-- Because I'm manually processing this, I'd have a hard time competing on price.

If you'd like to comment directly on this idea, here are some links:

Competition:

My initial layout (Please comment on the business idea, not the fine tuning of the site layout. It's still roughed in there.)

Don't like ads? Remove them while supporting the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

Digamma

Gold Contributor
Read Millionaire Fastlane!
Speedway Pass
Nov 13, 2014
Make sales. If you make sales, you'll figure the rest out. If you don't, you'll move on.

Identify your value add. Is it the customization? Do they care?

I don't know. You don't know. Other users here don't know.

Only the market knows.