The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

How do i know if i m not violating some patent private labeling a product

623baller

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
93%
Feb 26, 2016
Just starting out and a total newbie in this business. i have found a few promising products in my niche but i m not sure if private labeling such product will get me in any trouble. Competition are either selling a known brand version of it or a generic version. i did see same products under a different brand but i cant tell if they are legit or not

i did a search on the US patent database but i just cant be sure if it's a patented product, i visited the major brand website , they said they are patented globally but i dont know if that's just something they state on the site or they actually have the patent. Funny thing is the supplier im getting quotes from indicated on their web site that they have it patented in China as well lol.

anyways, im torn, i feel like i found a product with potential but what can i do as next steps to make sure i wont get in trouble for private labeling it or even just selling the generic version

appreciate any advice!

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

amanteai

PARKED
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
0% - New User
May 14, 2016
SC
I was just pondering this last night, was going to nose around on here to see if I could figure it out. Thanks for asking this.