The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Hi, I’m Guidance!

Guidance

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
27%
Dec 2, 2018
Hello everyone,

I’m Guidance (I prefer to remain anonymous) and I’m a recent graduate and software developer. I’ve been a “wantrepreneur” for quite some time. I set out to build the next Facebook in high school, a Q&A website in college, an internship-finding website in college and a Stripe-analytics application in college. 2 of them were left incomplete and other 2 failed to get traction.

Since then, I have geared myself towards software in B2B areas. I’ve read countless threads online of “idea guys” looking for someone to build their software. Funny thing in my case is that I’m a software guy looking for ideas. All the books and success stories say to improve something your domain. That doesn’t work in the software industry, where every category has multiple solid players and open-source solutions. Project management software? It has over 100 solutions covering all areas of it. Issue/bug management software? JIRA and others have taken this area as well. Forget being cheap, most of these solutions are free.

I don’t have domain experience or connections in other industries. When I look at other industries, I see heavy competition at extremely low prices that I can’t compete with. I also don’t have access to large businesses who I can sell to, so small and medium segment is what I’m stuck with.