The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Help Me Structure a REal Estate Deal with My parents - Buyout/Exit strategy

fbohn1

PARKED
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
0% - New User
Jun 30, 2018
Hi all, this is my first time posting - I read the site multiple times a week and love all the info.

(TL,DR) Searching for an exit strategy/buyout options on real estate investment involving 2 couples - each with kids as heirs.

I'm hoping someone here has a similar scenario, or can provide some input to this deal. Mainly the question from me, the wife, and my parents are - what is the exit strategy/buyout? To be clear, there is no tension involved with this at all - we're just all trying to determine the best outcome for us the investors, and the kids as heirs.
Here are the parameters, already agreed upon numbers:
  • I found a multi-family unit I would like to buy, and it will cash flow at about 80% occupancy.
  • I don't have enough for down-payment + closing costs, however my folks do. They are not current investors - all they would do with this sum of money is put it towards their current mortgage balance.
  • Folks go in for 75%, me & wife in for 25% of DP + Closing. My father is willing to go in based on the fact that he expects my mother to live a very long time, and would like to provide some extra monthly cash flow for her.
  • Positive cash flow will be put into LLC bank account until we have (an already agreed upon) $XX in for repairs, capex, etc.