The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Hello from San Francisco!

sumobro

New Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
188%
Feb 26, 2017
San Francisco
Hey guys! Excited to be part of this community.

I'm currently 26 and have been working for VC backed startups for my entire career (minus one that didn't get funding which was my own startup). I have a bit of a strange background as I graduated in Business (intended to double major in software engineer) but ended up dropping the engineering major to work as a software engineer.

Currently I'm heading the engineering team for a VC backed 15 person startup (employee #2), however I'm realizing more and more that the VC world isn't the world I want to live in. My first job out of college, I worked all hours of the clock as the 4th employee and burnt out after a few years. They're successful having raised over $90 million and worth $300 million but as MJ mentions in the book, at the end of the day you're just along for the ride and my paper gains are enough for a down payment in SF (if I could cash them) but not much more. I used to often question why I let the companies dictate my life and freedom and if there wasn't a better path. The Freedom Fastlane really resonated with me and put words to things that I personally have been struggling with and identifying as things I need to work on but didn't quite have an eloquent way of putting it.