The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Hello from California

BobWhiteballs

PARKED
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
0% - New User
May 5, 2013
Hi everyone,

I'm a dude living in a small town in California - about two hours north of Los Angeles.
I am currently working full-time as a database programmer. I've been doing this for several years now.

I've been working in an organization for other people for most of my adult life. I don't want to get into how I feel about that, but it drove me to seek entrepreneurship and freedom.

I never cared about buying toys. The only thing I've ever wanted was freedom.

A couple years ago I started a little stock video business with a cheap prosumer camera. I do not own the website where the video footage is sold. I just get a commission when my clips are sold. After reading MJ DeMarco's book, I realize that's a huge negative for a business. At the time I started the business, though, I didn't know any better.

Now, my clips are generating about $500 to $700 a month in revenue and growing.

There are some fixed costs, though. I am renting a photo studio for $800 a month, and I've sunk $7,500 into new camera and equipment, not to mention labor costs for talent and an occasional assistant. As I write this, I realize I must seem like a complete jackass for sustaining these costs.