The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Have you had your "FTE"? (Or Was it an FTM?!)

amp0193

Legendary Contributor
FASTLANE INSIDER
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
443%
May 27, 2013
United States
I used to be a teacher. When my daughter was born, I realized that:

I'm going to be spending 40-50 hours a week, AWAY from my daughter, in order to teach things to OTHER PEOPLE'S kids, who don't want to be in my class, things they don't want to know, and won't remember.

And then having the staff meeting guilt trips laid on us monthly for not "putting in the work" to sacrifice even more for these kids, while ignoring the fact that every hour at school is sacrificing more time with my own.

I started a business when my daughter was 2 weeks old, and extended my brief maternity leave to 3 months (the full amount allowed by federal law), in order to work on it and support my wife. My principal was not happy with my "lack of concern" for my students.

That business I started will soon be sold for more than I would've been able to save after 2-3 decades of teaching.

Last edited:

MJ DeMarco

I followed the science; all I found was money.
Staff member
FASTLANE INSIDER
EPIC CONTRIBUTOR
Read Rat-Race Escape!
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
446%
Jul 23, 2007
Utah