The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Care and Feeding of Employees & Contractors

Topics relating to managing people and relationships

Iwokeup

Aut viam invenium aut faciam
FASTLANE INSIDER
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
Summit Attendee
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
283%
May 23, 2014
The East Coast
I think that the forum needs a good "Care and Feeding of Employees and Contractors" discussion.

UPFRONT Declaration
: I am NOT an expert. I do not claim to be infallible. Smack me around if this thread comes off as pompous or pedantic. I just want to share my (somewhat limited) experience and see if the real experts have any thoughts. :)

My background: I have one household employee (full time) and have contracted with something like 5 different independent contractors via Elance, Upwork, locally, etc. Less formally, I have pretty extensive experience in team building and getting maximal performance from team members (that I didn't hire). This spans several years in the Marine Corps as an NCO, helping my mother run her small business, and as a physician working with medical students, residents, hospital staff physicians, techs, unit clerks, and nurses and is ongoing.

"But I don't ever want or need employess, @Iwokeup!", you say. "That's not Fastlane" or "It doesn't fit in with the Four Hour Work Week." or "I'm going to be a solopreneur and outsource everything!"

I hear you! Yes indeed I do! But consider this:

• Human beings are social creatures.