The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Built a prototype and it works, now what

Mark Haas

New Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
100%
Aug 4, 2016
All,

So quick background: I am a mechanical engineer with a 9-5 job. I also know a great deal about fitness, nutrition and muscular anatomy. I am a men's physique competitor as a hobby and I have been learning about fitness and nutrition since I was very young. I have read TMF , and this is what I want to do.

I built a prototype exercise machine and I am currently testing it. There is nothing like it on the market. From my results, I feel very strongly that it is working and that it definitely will work for others too. It is doing exactly what I wanted it to and more.

My question(s) is/are this:

Should I file for a provisional patent now?
Should I buy some pro-engineer/Autocad software and start making a final design, then build that first before I file for the provisional patent, then a fun patent a year after the fact?

Are there any books out there that teach me how and when to formally patent something?
(I have already looked at related exercise machine patents out there and I have a basic understanding on how they are written.)

Are there any books/resources out there that explain how to mass produce a machine?

Are there any books/resources out there that explain how to market something like this?

Any help is very appreciated
Respectfully,
MH