The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Amazing essay - How to Become a Customer Acquisition Expert

TommyG

Contributor
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
450%
Dec 9, 2013
This essay from Brian Balfour really inspired me, so I thought I'd share it with you here.

Brian was the VP of growth at HubSpot, and generally one of these high-level silicon valley guys.

He's completely self-taught in marketing.

"I’m not here to brag. My point is, if I can do it, you can do it too and I want to share my tips and lessons learned"

Some key points:
  • There is no one magic course or resource,
  • experience and experimentation trumps all
  • College/uni is pointless for marketers
  • Blogs/forums etc help but you need to get your hands dirty
  • Certifications mostly suck and are often inferior to freely available info
"Going to college doesn’t hurt. But our education system, plain and simple, is not teaching the things to to make people productive in the work environment. Filling the gap between what you learn in college, and the skills to make you productive in the work environment is up to you"

The 'T Shaper Marketer'

Digital marketing is a HUGE field. In order to not get overwhelmed, you need a path and an action plan for your development.

The 'T' represents an individual with strong knowledge in many different areas and related topics, but who has very deep expertise in a more narrow subdomain.