The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Am I insane for entering the magazine (print) industry?

djs13

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
13%
Oct 3, 2007
NY
I've been toying with this idea for the past three months and I've been doing alot of research on the industry to figure out if it's viable. Basically, my idea is to start a magazine in a particular niche that isn't directly being tapped. I've been reading about magazine start-ups and I think this type of company is very "boot-strapable" since my savings isn't much more than $5k. It would rely mostly on magazine subscriptions taken from its web site, which is okay because the research I have done has shown most magazine sales are actually subscriptions opposed to newsstand sales.

I don't want to get too into this idea, but would rather ask your opinion on the print industry. Newspapers are consistently failing and the magazine industry isn't exactly booming. But my idea is more of an outlet to my niche. For example, I'm not really interested in just making a magazine, but instead using the magazine as a tool.

Newspapers have been failing lately, but I think there is a difference between reading news and reading a magazine for its ideas. I go to two web sites on a daily basis to get information on local/national news, but there aren't many web sites that could replace my magazine subcription to GQ.