The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Marco Cuevas

Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Read Unscripted!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
155%
Jun 12, 2017
I left active duty in 2007, but remained a Reservist until 2015. I will always cherish my time serving my country. The values have remained and I strive to continuously give back - which is the biggest reason I work in the non-profit industry at the moment!

I fell to consumerism when I was 18-22 getting all this money as a member of the armed forces and when I left in 2007, I was sitting on over $30K in consumer debt. The second best job I've ever had since leaving the military was selling Cutco knives but that's a different story.

The situation I was in left me not many options. I wanted to use my GI Bill and go to school full-time because I wouldn't be paying for it, but my consumer debt kept me chained... I ended up volunteering for a deployment to Afghanistan in 2009 and in the 10 months I was there, paid off all my consumer debt and had some money set aside for investing.

However, at that point, I still had not experienced the learning necessary to ensure I wouldn't end up in the trap again... I blew most (NOT ALL) of my money when I got back on all the equipment and training needed to skydive (important for later) and a 600cc sport bike (I still maintain this was a needed purchase! - lol)