The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Why do so many people think advertising is evil?

Marketing, social media, advertising
D

Deleted2BB3x9

Hey guys,

Have you ever met someone who thinks that business is just about deceiving the buyer and screwing him over? Or thinks that advertising is evil? That's like my dad. I just had a discussion with him about this, but since I'm studying advertising myself I know this isn't true. Advertising is about giving the person what they already want and amplifying that desire, not tricking them into buying something. However he's convinced otherwise, I tried to talk him out of it but then he brought up an example about something he recently bought. The package said "BONUS includes 2 waxing pads" but they're was a picture of 4 on the box. So now he's convinced he's been screwed over, and tells me how this is what he's learned through his life, and that I have a lot to learn. Have you ever met someone like this? Why do so many people think this way? I think he just misunderstood, but is there any truth to what he's saying?

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.
Last edited by a moderator:

Jakeeck

Silver Contributor
Read Fastlane!
Speedway Pass
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
198%
Jun 24, 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
It's a gray area for me.. some of the best fitness books out there help people, yes, but they promise ridiculous results that people never achieve.