The Entrepreneur Forum | Financial Freedom | Starting a Business | Motivation | Money | Success

Welcome to the only entrepreneur forum dedicated to building life-changing wealth.

Build a Fastlane business. Earn real financial freedom. Join free.

Join over 80,000 entrepreneurs who have rejected the paradigm of mediocrity and said "NO!" to underpaid jobs, ascetic frugality, and suffocating savings rituals— learn how to build a Fastlane business that pays both freedom and lifestyle affluence.

Free registration at the forum removes this block.

Residential Leasing

KLaw

Gold Contributor
Speedway Pass
Aug 4, 2012
ohio
I have a home that I've been renting /leasing to the same family for the last 10 years. This was my 1st land contract. The home is in Indiana and I've been in Ohio for the past 7+ yrs. They signed a 10 year lease. I don't even think that long of a land contract is legal and I have no idea why I made a 10 year lease. The lease is about to expire and they are unable to obtain financing to purchase it.

As I draft another land contract, is it typical to ask for another deposit? The initial deposit - 10 yrs ago was about 5% of what the cost to purchase the home was. What's the rule of thumb for the monthly increase for this next contract? Also, this contract expires 10/1/14. Any advice or questions are definitely appreciated. Thanks.

@SteveO and @CashFlowDepot and any others - thoughts? Thanks.

Dislike ads? Remove them and support the forum: Subscribe to Fastlane Insiders.

lleone

Bronze Contributor
Read Fastlane!
User Power
Value/Post Ratio
83%
Sep 7, 2011
New York
@KLaw